Wraith: Book Cover Brainstorming Process

12064258_10207513531218400_30614028_n

The many steps involved in a book’s publication are quite numerous. Now that the insides of Wraith are (for the most part) behind me, I wanted to move on to a step that requires my input but is handed off to a more qualified person: the cover design.

While the image above is certainly not the final image, it was a design I came up with this past Sunday while watching a painfully embarrassing game between the Dallas Cowboys and Atlanta Falcons. I had basically given up on a Cowboys victory and chose instead to move on to more important, pressing matters.

I created the image in one of my favorite apps Pixlr. Before its creation, I threw a very different one together as a warm up:

12064229_10207527886537274_230863496_n

There were some themes I liked in this one but felt it didn’t convey the much-needed mystery of the first image above. Chances are, you’ll see a cover more akin to the image at the top of the page as opposed to the green and red hand.

Once I had thrown the second image together, I asked myself, “What’s a great tagline/quote that pairs well with the image? What’s a short, memorable phrase that readers can grab hold of and get excited about? I came up with this:

wraithquote

Simple, straightforward, mysterious. I’m sure the final image will change over the next couple of weeks, but this is the foundation for the cover’s inspiration. Stay tuned for more!

Leave a Reply

